75 Percent Less Fat: No. 42

I am not always the most consistent of music fans. For instance, I loathe Queen, finding most of their work utterly inane. And yet, I’ll listen to the occasional Muse tune, a band that clearly doesn’t loathe Queen.

Similarly, I’ve always dug Echo and the Bunnymen, one of the many UK-based, Ian-fronted bands of the 1980s I enjoyed (Joy Division and Ian Curtis, Lightning Seeds and Ian Broudie, Icicle Works and Ian McNabb, among others). But while Ian McCullough clearly took his cues from this band, The Doors are among my least-favorite acts of ever.  And one of the reasons I so despise the Doors is because of just how full of himself Jim Morrison was.

All of this brings us to No. 42. A few years before Oasis proclaimed themselves bigger than the Beatles, Ian Brown and co. were lauding themselves as the new messiah. And if you didn’t get that message on the band’s self-titled debut, then “Second Coming,” made sure you caught on the second time.

While the follow-up certainly called into question their claim to higher powerness, the band’s debut disc at least kept open the possibility. From the slow building opener, I Wanna Be Adored through to the clublike nearly 10-minute Fool’s Gold*, the album is just chock full of great sons. In fact, I’d be hard-pressed to name another album from the college/modern/indie rock library that produced as many “classic” songs as this one.

Highlights include: Elephant Stone, where screeching guitar work gives way to a pop gem; the fuzzy She Bangs the Drums; the beautifully gory Made of Stone; and the messianic I Am the Resurrection.

Important Information:

Name: The Stone Roses s/t

Released: 1989

Record Company: Silvertone

Running Time: 49:02

Track Listing:

  1. I Wanna Be Adored
  2. She Bangs the Drums
  3. Elephant Stone
  4. Waterfall
  5. Don’t Stop
  6. Bye Bye Badman
  7. Elizabeth My Dear
  8. (Song for My) Sugar Spun Sister
  9. Made of Stone
  10. Shoot You Down
  11. This is the One
  12. I Am the Resurrection
  13. Fool’s Gold

*Only on the U.S. version. The original UK release excluded both Fool’s Gold and Elephant Stone.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s